Challenge: Does God Care about Sports?

Posted: February 7, 2012 by Amy Hall in God is Real, Weekly Challenge

The NFL season is over now, so for Brett’s sake, let’s help ease him out of it by keeping the football talk going for one more week. You might have heard a few people mention Tim Tebow over the past few months. Or maybe more than a few. His Christianity has been a hot topic, with jokes and sometimes even anger erupting at every turn, bringing a few theological questions into the public square:

Does God intervene in things like football games? Should a Christian like Tebow pray about a football game? How should Christians integrate their Christianity with sports?”

So what do you think? Give these questions a shot, and then we’ll hear from Brett on Thursday.

Comments
  1. tlogical says:

    Yes and no. While I don’t believe God is a fan of any one team or player, I do believe there are reasons why one team might win and another might lose especially when the game seem like it could come down to the coin toss. I believe this because how absolutely life-changing an effect a superbowl win or loss can have on the players, city, and fans. I don’t believe it’s one of those things where if Tebow prays enough the broncos will win. I simply believe it’s one of those situations where one must say, “Thy will be done.” God can only know what repercussions these games will have.

  2. Jeremy Conway says:

    I have a hard thinking that God cares about sports when people around the world are dying of malnutrition or diseases that could easily be cured. The amount of money spent on “entertainment” in North America bewilders me and could be put to way better use. If God does care, then I would be apt to think He would care more about ‘how’ someone plays their game (sportsmanship) rather than who wins.

  3. tpatterson says:

    I think of it like this…should we enter the very presence of the Almighty God…a holy communion…to pray for a game? Granted the magnitude of the Super Bowl is impressive and impacts lives, but does it warrant our prayerful attention? Praying for the safety of players seems ok, but to pray for outcomes seems too far. I think we need to be careful when bowing our heads. Think of how many prayers were offered to God for the biggest of football games…all the while overlooking the fact that this particular game is also one of the biggest events for sex trafficking. Yet I fear that more prayers were offered for victory on the field rather than victory over the evil lurking around it.

  4. tlogical says:

    I agree there are other things just as worthy or more worthy of prayer, but I do not think these things diminish the importance of the Super Bowl in the lives of many people in the fact that it is not mere entertainment to them. It is their livelihood, their future.It could make or break careers. It could bring money to charities that would change lives forever. The possibilities are endless, and so I doubt greatly that God does not have any hand in it.

    If we should claim God has his hand in other significant episodes of life, I cannot see how we can claim to be consistent if we also believe God does not have his hand in these things.However, my attitude towards it all is “Thy will be done.” God’s purposes are greater than just merely one team beating another, because the effects of a win or loss is on a much larger scale than me simply beating my cousin in a game of checkers.

    So would I have like the Patriots to be have beat the Giants? Yes. Desperately, yes. But I honestly believe that God’s will was that the Giants should win. Why? I have absolutely no idea. I simply trust that His ways are higher than my ways, and His thoughts higher than my thoughts.