Challenge: You Don’t Know the Real Jesus

Posted: January 31, 2012 by Amy Hall in Choosing My Religion, Jesus Changes Everything, Weekly Challenge

Here’s an interesting one. A couple weeks ago, the challenge was the “Why I Hate Religion, but Love Jesus” video (see Brett’s response to it here). For this week’s challenge, we give you a Muslim response to that video. The video will give you a great summary of the major disagreements Islam has with Christianity, so it’s interesting in and of itself.

For the challenge, tell us how you would respond to a Muslim friend who sent you this video. It covers a lot of different topics, so just give us an idea of an overall approach you would take and/or address one or two of his claims. And then Alan will do the same on Thursday.

Comments
  1. Sam Harper says:

    I don’t know why, but watching these videos is like fingernails down a chalkboard to me. I never even watched the original video. I gave up on this one after a few seconds.

  2. greeklogic says:

    My only question for my friend would be, ‘What does he mean by faith?’ When the guy in the video uses the term ‘faith’ it sounds like he is describing lazy, easy, cheap religion. This is a common misconception of the ‘church’ (another term he uses flippantly). I would hope to distinguish between what the man in the video says is ‘faith’ and that of which the Christian Faith actually consists. Having the ‘faith’ he describes means that all a person does is accepts Jesus as Savior and then magically everything works itself out. However, the Christian Faith is not a reason for comfort. The Christian Faith is a call to action, submission, and conviction which cannot be dictated from outside influence but must arise from the inward transformation of a person’s heart. Like Jesus (the Prophet) says about unclean eating in Matthew 15: ‘…it is not what goes into the mouth that defiles a person, but what comes out of the mouth; this defiles a person…what comes out of the mouth proceeds from the heart, and this defiles a person.’ Only when the heart is changed can that which proceeds from the heart be changed. A person’s heart can never be changed just by doing the right actions. It can only be transformed by God. And as Christians we know of God’s transforming work only through Jesus Christ.

    As a side-note on discussions with Muslims:
    However the conversation starts or continues, eventually you need to get to the question, ‘How do you know what God’s disposition is toward you?’ Is he merciful? Is he angry? Is he capricious? Is he judicious? The only real truth about the character of God in Islam is that he is transcendent, and incomprehensible. With a God like that, there is no way to know how you stand before Him. When you can convey that, there is an open door for the Gospel.

    Peace!
    – Macellarius Sus

  3. Albert says:

    Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst. – John 6:35(NASB)

    Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.” – John 8:12(NASB)

    I am the door; if anyone enters through Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. – John 10:9(NASB)

    “I am the good shepherd; the good shepherd lays down His life for the sheep. – John 10:11(NASB)

    Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life; he who believes in Me will live even if he dies, – John 11:25(NASB)

    Jesus *said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me. – John 14:6(NASB)

    “I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser. – John 15:1(NASB)

    I would ask my Muslim friend what he though Jesus meant by these passages.

    Jesus was pretty clear about who he was. I don’t think we can mistake Jesus for who he claimed to be. And this is just one book and is only references of where Jesus said, “I am…”. This was him explained to us who he believed he was. So if Muslims want to believe he was just a prophet, then they need to reconcile that with these passages.

    There is so much in that video that I would probably start with this issue as I believe this was probably the focus of the person making the video from what I can tell.

    And just like with Bethke’s video, there are more than likely things that this guy said that could use clarification but we would need to talk to him directly for that.

    My Muslim friend might think differently on some of the points made so I would have to use Colombo and let my friend explain what each part of this video means.

    I’m sure, then, we can find fallacy in what is being said.

    • larrylenard says:

      In one sense, Islam is quite Arian: Allah created Jesus and has delegated authority to him. Everything Jesus does is by Allah’s permission (I only do what the Father tell me to do.) Jesus is subordinate and is not Allah.

  4. Jack says:

    Wait what?
    I have a suspicion that most of his admonitions against worshiping Jesus would apply doubly to Mohammed, and Mohammed didn’t even cliam to be God incarnate. Funny that he didn’t get a mention? So that would me my response to the guy (ignoring hid obvious biblical errors of course) But yeah these types of vids are pretty painful to watch.

  5. Jack says:

    Sorry for the typos…:)

  6. tlogical says:

    I think the primary problem with this video is that it’s full of strawmen. The whole beginning part of the video is basically one big strawman by characterizing Christians as being against conviction and submission. It simply isn’t true, and I’m sure Alan can show some verses showing quite the opposite

    Some of the more serious allegations he brings against Christianity are comprised of issues concerning the Trinity. In the video, he suggest Christians only have faith and do not reason, but I wonder how he supposes they came to the conclusion of the Trinity? Reasoning. Reasoning based on the multitude of scriptures that support Trinitarian doctrine.

    Probably the most troubling of the accusations of falsehood he casts against is in the form of “If Jesus is God, how can God die?”

    The answer to this question is that God did not die. Jesus came to earth in the form/likeness of man, just as God came to earth in the form of a pillar of fire, cloud, burning bush, and other forms. Once the burning bush goes out does God cease to exist? When the cloud fades, does that mean God ceases to exist? No, God continues to exist. His existence is not limited to the form and so it is with Christ, for Christ was with God from the beginning of time.So while Jesus died in the physical form, he was very much alive while His body still lay in the grave.

    Lastly, the gentleman claims to love Jesus more than Christians because he actually does was Jesus said to DO. I wonder if Mr. Muslim does this…

    “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”
    Matthew 28:19-20

    I doubt it.

  7. It is the Jesus of the Qu’ran who says he isn’t God, who doesn’t ask for worship and considers himself just a prophet. My question is why should we consider the words of the Qu’ran instead of the words of the Gospels. The Qu’ran says that the words of Allah cannot be changed and the New Testament says that all scripture is the words of Allah. The real challange will be to show the superiority of the Gospels.

    • Albert says:

      That is an interesting idea. Compare the Qu’ran to the canonical bible…

      What you find is an extra ordinary amount of documents in favor for the canonical bible as they not only are more existing, but they are shown to be so much closer to the source of the events they speak of. 30+ years as opposed to 400+ (I believe) for the Qu’ran.

      Contemporaries documenting eye witness accounts instead of word of mouth finally being written down.

      This doesn’t even take into account the consistency within the books themselves.

      Canonical bible would win in all areas in my opinion.

  8. Well this one is more of a challenge for me because I don’t have much experience debating with Muslims. But like any other challenger, I would first ask him to clarify what he means. I’d ask questions like, “Who was Jesus really? What was his mission here on earth? What did he really tell us to do?”

    After figuring out exactly what sort of Jesus he believes in, I would ask what he has to say about all the scriptures in which Jesus in fact did say what this video says he did not. I know Muslims would object that the Bible has been corrupted. To this I would ask how he knows that considering there is overwhelming evidence to suggest it has not.

    Finally, depending on where this conversation I might suggest how Paul wrote in Gal. that if anyone, even an angel from heaven, brought to you a gospel contrary to the gospel of Christ he is to be accursed. The story behind Islam sounds exactly like this.