Sticks and Stones

Posted: October 24, 2011 by Amy Hall in Etcetera

This week’s featured article at STR Place is from Alan:

“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can never hurt me.” Though I haven’t said that childhood phrase in a long time, it’s as true today as it was years ago on the playground. It still teaches us a valuable lesson: Don’t let name-calling get to you. One might think adults don’t call people names. Sure they do. They just disguise it by using more “sophisticated” terms.

Kids who would have called me “jerk,” “dim-wit,” and “dork” 25 years ago now call me “homophobic, “narrow-minded,” and “judgmental.” They’re nastier names, but they’re equally as innocuous and silly. Little, it seems, has changed.

People resort to name-calling when they lack a substantive argument against your view. They hope you feel bad about your new label.  But don’t take the bait. Instead, take a cue from the Stand to Reason tactic called “Sticks and Stones.” I use it all the time when faced with a name-caller.

Find out how this tactic works at STR Place.

Comments
  1. Jane Clark says:

    Have I offended you, or are you offended by Jesus Christ? Follow up by, “Why”?