In Memory of John Stott

Posted: August 2, 2011 by Amy Hall in Etcetera

John Stott passed away last week at the age of 90. Whenever I think of him, I think of a passage in his book, Basic Christitianity, about turning to Christ:

Second, there must be a renunciation of self. In order to follow Christ we must not only forsake isolated sins, but renounce the very principle of self-will which lies at the root of every act of sin. To follow Christ is to surrender to him the rights over our own lives. It is to abdicate the throne of our heart and do homage to him as our King.

This image of me stepping down from my heart’s throne and submitting to Jesus there in His proper place was used by God to pierce me and change my life forever. Rest in peace, John R. W. Stott.

Comments
  1. I remember a spiritual crisis many years ago. A cultist told me flat out that if I do not speak in tongues, I am not saved. Someone gave me a book, which was later revised as “Baptism and Fulness”. That really helped me when I needed it. And “Basic Christianity” has been essential reading for many years as well. When I recommitted my life to Christ a year and a half ago, I repurchased both of those books.