What Are You Willing to Invest in Spiritual Training?

Posted: July 8, 2011 by Brett Kunkle in Events

Summer is expensive.  At least, for me as a parent it is.  For my younger kids I have to pay for swim lessons, soccer camps, VBS, trips to water parks and amusement parks, and more.  For my high schooler I have to pay for summer basketball league, a San Diego tournament, and youth group activities and trips.  And these costs don’t even include feeding my kids all summer.

This might be pretty typical for your family as well.  Summer provides all kind of opportunities but they come with corresponding expenses.  However, many parents and students will make the investment.  “My kid needs summer football camp?’  No problem.  “Pay for swim lessons?”  Sure.  “Academic tutoring?”  Of course.  I know parents willing to spend thousands on sports and academics.  But how many parents and students are willing to put the very same investment of time and money into spiritual training?

I do a lot of training with parents and I challenge them on this very point.  So I guess it’s time for me to put my money where my mouth is.  My biggest summer investment is a 2-week Colorado trip for my 16-year old daughter, Lexi.  Altogether, the trip will cost me about $1,300.  Where am I sending her?  To Summit Ministries’ Student Worldview Conference.  She’ll fly out of Orange County on the morning of August 14 and won’t return home until August 26.  Her flight will cost about $300.  The conference costs $895.  She’ll need about $100 of spending money.  That’s a big chunk of change for our family.  But it’s worth it.  It’s an eternal investment.

I know what Lexi is going to get at Summit.  Two weeks of intense training, training more valuable than any basketball camp or swim lesson.  She’ll examine the false ideas of this world that compete for her heart and mind every single day.  Then she’ll learn to analyze those ideas and expose them for the lies they are.  She’ll learn to think Christianly, discovering why Christianity is true and what difference it makes for every single area of her life.  She’ll walk away with more confidence in Christ.

How do I know?  Because I had the chance to see firsthand what Summit does last month.  I spent three days at their Colorado location and afterward, I was sold.  I signed Lexi up immediately, willing to pay the cost.  Summit’s program was that good.

So parents and students, check out Summit’s summer conferences.  Not only do they host them in Colorado, they have a camp in Tennessee (coming up in 2 days!) and one in Wisconsin (Aug. 7-20).  It’s the best investment you can make this summer.

Can’t get to Summit this summer?  There may be other options closer to you:

Comments are closed.