Can You Read the Bible as Well as You Can Read a Blog?

Posted: June 15, 2011 by Alan Shlemon in God Has Spoken
Tags:

I (Alan) caught up with one of my professors at Biola University and asked him why it’s important to study the proper method of interpreting the Bible.

Walt Russell is an expert in hermeneutics and has written a book on the subject called, Playing with Fire: How the Bible Ignites Change in Your Soul.

I’ve written two articles on this issue. One is called, “My Most Controversial Teaching” and the other is called, “Learn a Secret Skill of Pastors to Help Understand the Bible.”

Part 2 of this interview can be found here.

 

Comments
  1. Rob says:

    So if there is a way to correctly interpret scripture, then why do so many ‘learned’ people come away with different interpretations? Even on fundamental issues such as requirements for salvation. Seems like the only way out of this dilemma is to Pascal Wager your way out and choose the least risky interpretation. Thoughts?

    • Amy Hall says:

      This is a great question, Rob. I wanted to make this a challenge question when you asked it before, but since we had already taken on another one of your questions for a challenge a couple weeks earlier, I thought I should wait a while before I came back to you again for that. (What can I say? You asked interesting questions!) But since we’re on the subject right now because of the video, I’m going to write a post to give my thoughts and post it later today. So check back!