Don’t Bury Your Doubts

Posted: December 29, 2010 by Amy Hall in Do the Right Thing

Nancy Pearcey, author of Total Truth and Saving Leonardo, explains “How Critical Thinking Saves Faith“:

Join a campus ministry group?  A Bible study?  Important though those things are, the most decisive factor [according to a Fuller Seminary study] is whether students had a safe place to work through their doubts and questions before leaving home.

The researchers concluded, “The more college students felt that they had the opportunity to express their doubt while they were in high school, the higher [their] levels of faith maturity and spiritual maturity.”

The study indicates that students actually grow more confident in their Christian commitment when the adults in their life — parents, pastors, teachers — guide them in grappling with the challenges posed by prevailing secular worldviews.  In short, the only way teens become truly “prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks” (1 Pet. 3:15) is by wrestling honestly and personally with the questions.

Don’t hide from your doubts, face them. And don’t try to do this alone because it’s easy to become overwhelmed if you don’t know where to find answers. If your pastor can’t help you with your questions, seek out sites like STR Place and STR, and don’t give up.

Comments
  1. Josh McDowell, Ph.D., started to write a book showing Christianity to be false. The result: EVIDENCE THAT DEMANDS A VERDICT.

  2. Sam Harper says:

    I used to express my doubts to my wife all the time, and she ended up losing her faith over it, which is ironic because they were MY doubts, and I didn’t lose my faith over it. So now I’m always careful about WHO I express my doubts to, and always a little concerned whenever I do that I’m going to cause somebody else to lose their faith.

    • Amy Hall says:

      That’s a good point, Sam. If your questions are above the other person’s ability to answer, then you could just bring him or her into the same position as you, rather than that person helping to lift you out. But even so, as you said, you didn’t lose your faith over your doubts, so there was probably something more going on with her than just your questions. (That is to say, I wouldn’t say you were the cause.)

  3. Sam says:

    Oh look! Saving Leonardo is $10.80 again! Wahoo! Glad I waited.

  4. I might just have to consider it… She graduated from the same seminary that several of my pastors went to.

    • Sam Harper says:

      Kyle, maybe if you wait around a little bit, you can get it for 10.80 again at the link Amy made. The last time Amy posted a link, saying it was on sale for $10.80, all the $10.80 copies were sold by the time I clicked on the link. But then when she posted this link and I clicked on it, there were three copies. So it might be worth waiting and checking if you’re cheap like me.