Looking for Purpose

Posted: November 29, 2010 by Amy Hall in God is Real

A revealing quote by atheist Matt Ridley from the “Does the Universe Have a Purpose?” debate:

We’ve searched for purpose in the large structures of space, we’ve searched for it in the subatomic particles, we’ve searched for it in natural history, we’ve searched for it in bodies, we’ve searched for it in genes. We haven’t found it. Yes, it might be around the corner, but it doesn’t seem very likely now. We’ve found pattern, we haven’t found purpose. That’s telling us something. It’s a unicorn.

He’s spot on about one thing: Purpose can’t come from mere matter. No great mind behind the universe, no purpose. But his method of looking for it reminds me of this.

Comments
  1. Adrian Urias says:

    Yeah, that last part threw me off. “It’s a unicorn.” I’m not sure what he means by that. I mean, my guess is that he’s mocking God somehow, like when atheists put God, Santa, unicorns, and faeries in the same kind of category, but even if that were so, I still don’t know what he means.

    Explain to me, por favor?

  2. I kinda wonder what they think purpose is suppose to look like.