Can Someone Be Once Gay?

Posted: October 20, 2010 by Alan Shlemon in Do the Right Thing

“There’s a reason that homosexuals are attracted to the same sex.” That’s what I said at a recent event where I talked about the causes of homosexuality. Talk about politically incorrect! Not only does it seem like I’m suggesting that homosexuals aren’t “born that way” (which in itself is attacking cherished dogma), but my statement presumes that we know what makes them attracted to the same sex. Cue the charges of bigotry and intolerance.

I’m not posting now to explain the causes of homosexuality. However, I am putting my thoughts on that in writing and should have something published early next year. For now, I want to point you to a music video that tells the story of a person who was once gay. The fact that someone can be gay and then later not be gay is significant for a couple of reasons. One, it instantly defeats the “once gay, always gay” mantra. If there’s just one genuine testimony of a person who has left the gay lifestyle (out of the thousands who claim they have), then the claim that you can’t change is false. And two, it strongly discredits the claim that homosexuality is a function of your genes in the same way as eye color. After all, we know you can’t change your eye color. If homosexually is just as impossible to overcome, then how do we explain all – and I mean all – the testimonies of people who have left homosexuality (including the many who aren’t Christians). I know many of these people personally. They don’t like the fact that people deny they exist.

The video is in Italian, but there are subtitles. It was performed in 2009 at Italy’s “Festival di San Remo.” You can read the story about the performance and its aftermath here after watching the video.

Click on the image below to watch the video.

Comments
  1. Moooooo says:

    I don’t think this is a first-person testimony. Although the artist does claim he had a 7 month gay “phase”, the song is about someone who was gay for years. And his name isn’t Luca. It’s either about someone else or (more likely) is fictional.